What are the Sustainable City Awards?


From the smallest of grass roots groups to the biggest multi-nationals, the Sustainable City Awards celebrate the best examples of innovation and good practice, for a smarter, healthier and more environmentally friendly world.
Founded in 2001 by the City of London Corporation, the awards will this year be coordinated and managed by London Sustainability Exchange to continue the recognition and reward of best practice in environmental management and sustainable leadership.
The awards are free to enter and no charge is made for attending the awards ceremony


These awards are utterly unique - no other scheme recognises what a tiny community group can do to bring us closer towards being fully sustainable, on the same platform as a multinational corporation

Samantha HeathChief Executive of London Sustainability Exchange

We are absolutely delighted to have had this recognition from the City of London of the beneficial impact of our work both for people and for the environment. We want people to appreciate the great outdoors! To learn about organic gardening, wildlife, growing food and enjoying community

Kate SebagDirector Brockwell Park Community Greenhouses, overall winner 2017

Awards Categories

  • null

    Sustainable Mobility

    Innovative schemes encouraging sustainable forms of travel, reducing traffic and transport impact on the environment, tackling air pollution, e.g. innovative projects to encourage walking, cycling, public realm enhancement schemes, etc.

  • null

    Managing Resources

    Best practice to improve resource conservation, such as gas, water, electricity, waste and recycling, smart grids energy sharing and management, heritage assets management and re-use.

  • null

    Sir Peter Parker

    The Sir Peter Parker Award Recognises businesses that have successfully set new standards of innovation, performance and environmental leadership.

Sir Peter Parker Award

In 1975, Sir Peter Parker founded The Business Commitment to the Environment (BCE) Environmental Leadership Awards scheme. Until their recent merger with the Sustainable City Awards, the BCE Awards were the longest running environmental award scheme in the UK.

The Sir Peter Parker Award recognises businesses that have successfully set new standards of innovation, performance and environmental leadership.

If you are a business and wish to be considered for the Sir Peter Parker Awards, please read the additional notes for guidance on what this award will be looking for.

Who and what are we looking for?

The Sustainable City Awards are unique in that they are open to everyone, making them a fantastic opportunity to recognise and reward small scale community and grass roots projects on the same platform as multi-national initiatives.
Green roofs, air quality campaigns, community greenhouses and innovative design for buildings have all been awarded in recent years and we are excited to see this list grow.
If you are working hard to instil innovative and sustainable practices and business behaviour in your organisation or you work for an organisation that you feel is doing this, we want to hear from you!
Our application process is simple, simply download the form for your chosen categories and follow the guidelines within.
Only one entry per category for each organisation is permitted.

Meet our sponsors

Hosted By

Key Sponsor

Smart Technology

Managing Resources

Supported By

Media Partner

The Event

12th July 2018


The ceremony will be hosted by Siemens at their ground breaking technology centre the Crystal, in Royal Victoria Docks.

Shirley Rodrigues, Deputy Mayor of London for Environment and Energy, will take part in the ceremony. The awards are free to enter and no charge is made for attending the ceremony.


Sustainable Mobility

James Smith


David Elliot

Trees for Cities

Ruth Calderwood

City of London

Simon Moody

Environment Agency

Simon Gillespie

British Heart Foundation

Smart Technology

Christopher Turner

British BIDs

Alanna Coombes

City of London

Deborah Jarvis

London Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mark Jenkinson


Managing Resources

Robbie Stevenson


Andrew Tucker

Thames Water

Paul Toyne

London Sustainable Development Commission (LSDC)

Andrew Dakers

West London Business

Karen Marks

City of London Corporation

Sir Peter Parker Award

Martin Gibson

The Business Commitment to the Environment

Marcus Gover

The Business Commitment to the Environment

Neil Varey

The Business Commitment to the Environment